Reviews

F&g, Glasgow

Feb 2019
2nd review because it’s worth saying twice! We came back to the Borgo because we had such a wonderful stay the first time in 2017. The upgrades to the apartment (two brand new bathrooms, TV with Netflix and Amazon etc) have been good improvements on what was already hard to improve. Again, the host and caretakers have taken excellent care of us, and the restaurant below still has delicious food. Quiet, peaceful, charming and beautiful place. We’re pleased to call ourselves regulars now, and shall certainly keep returning.


Varanya

May 2019
A magical weekend getaway from Rome! It was a short, pleasant drive. We felt like royalty the moment we stepped into del Conte apartment. Alongside the historic and beautiful things, the apartment has every modern comfort. In unseasonably cold weather, it was soul-warming to step into a warm apartment, with modern bathrooms, wonderfully hot showers, wi-fi, and then to have the fireplace-well, it was difficult to leave! The art in the apartment & views outside are stunning. The food at Le Cucine del Borgo was simply marvelous. Ali made us feel like we had come home to family. We will be back.


Beverley, Oxford

Sep 2017
We loved our week staying here. A little quirky, artie and very beautiful. Marzina kept us well informed with details of the place and how to get there, and Ali was on hand when we needed anything, but only when we asked – all beautifully discreet and private. You really need a car to stay here, but once here, it’s hard to pull oneself away. Fantastic views from the Torretto, gorgeous walks through the village and forest, and our best chilled out holiday for years. We are already planning our return visit – can’t say better than that!


“Dimora signorile e delizioso giardino a gradoni”

Danielle C.

Jul 2017
Un soggiorno piacevolissimo in un posto incantevole nelle colline con il fascino dei secoli passati e le comodità di oggi. I nostri 2 adolescenti sono stati felici quanto noi !


“Beautiful apartment and location.”

Georgina G.

Aug 2016
Had a great holiday at il Borgo de Roccantica. Everything you needed at the apartment. Reminded us of a stately home. The views are breathtaking. You get a bit of exercise in the short walk up the hill to the pool but well worth it. A little bit of paradise.


A truly amazing and beautiful property.

Rob H.

Dec 2015
What a lovely and relaxing place to unwind. It was a little cool when we arrived but Ali had the fire going and we were met with such a warm welcome. The property is very well appointed and we just loved it. The view from the balcony is spectacular. The place was clean and very well laid out. The service was outstanding from the start and although our friends were a little older they found it quite easy to get around the property. I wish we could have stayed longer. We will be back.


Wonderful stay!

Jul 2015
We spent a glorious week in this charming location. We rented the tower for my parents and stayed in the main apartment with its beautiful frescos, terrace and large, well equipped kitchen. We also hired the pool where we went every evening for a dip. It was 40 degrees Celsius daily! The apartment stayed cool and was a lovely place for the whole family. Roccantica is a beautiful, medieval village, built on a steep hill. The Borgo is not steep, but once you leave the enclosure if the Borgo, it is steps, steps, steps. This was challenging for my elderly parents in the heat, so we chose our activity time carefully. Highlights were lunch in Casperia ( Johnny ‘s Vigna at the entrance to the old town) and day trip yo Rome( very easy). Roccantica is a calm, quiet place. For my children, books, games and art were ways to pass the time when it was too hot outside. This apartment was a great place to relax and escape the heat. Special mention of Ali and the Countessa for their help and friendship. Highly recommended!


“Great location with a magnificent view

Kees K.

Jul 2015
Very special place on a very special location. We loved the view and the old Italian village. And the swimmingpool! Thanks for all the care and kindness!


“Wundervoll und beeindruckend!”

Conni K.

Apr 2015
Wir (4 Frauen) verbrachten eine Woche in der angebotenen Wohnung. Uns standen 1 Doppelbett und 2 Einzelbetten zur Verfügung, bei Bedarf hätten wir auch mehr buchen können. Die Wohnung ist hatte zwei Bäder und ausreichend Stauraum für Wäsche und Co.
Die Bilder entsprechen der Realität. Sie ist bezaubernd eingerichtet und hat alles, was man in einer Woche Urlaub benötigt. Alles wirkt, als mache man Urlaub im 17. Jahrhundert, mit dem Bequemlichkeiten von heute.
Die Betreuung Vorort lies keine Wünsche offen. Hilfe war jederzeit da, wenn man sie denn brauchte.
Wer Ruhe sucht, ist hier genau richtig. Das Dorf ist idyllisch und einladend. Die Menschen sind freundlich und aufgeschlossen.
Wer möchte, kann sportlich aktiv sein. Es gibt zahlreiche Möglichkeiten in der Nähe. Der Vermieter gibt gute Tips. Mir persönlich haben die Wandermöglichkeiten sehr gefallen.
Ich kann alles in allem nur empfehlen. Ich würde wieder kommen.
Viele Grüße


“A beautiful stay in the Sabina region”

Martin E.

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at this property that is located in the medieval village of Roccantica in the Sabina region about one hour north of Rome. The property was very well kept and the apartments were very clean and well maintained. We would recommend this property to anyone. Also, great staff.


“Best kept secret in Italy”

Richard R.

Aug 2014
If you want to feel almost royal this is the place to be, a very large and comfortable apartment with a stunning view, 2 comfortable bedrooms, 2 livingrooms, one diningroom, fully equipped kitchen and a terras. To make you stay complete, book also the private garden and swimmingpool. The owner is more then helpfull and during our stay Ali helped us several times with good advises and nice tips. From here it is also easy to take the train to Rome.


“Pleasant and beautiful”

Jette N.

Jul 2014
We found the apartment very good. And everything was indeed up to our expectations after seeing the listing on the web. We enjoyed very much the atmosphere and the beauty of it all. The balcony works extremely well and the view is spectacular. We also rented the private garden and pool which was also fantastic. The property in its totality is very very beautiful. The village itself is interesting to move around in and the atmosphere great. The apartment is very well managed and the local manager very friendly, helpful and flexible. Highly recommended.


“A place you simply need to visit and revisit”

Gert J.

Jul 2014
We have visited Roccantica in the summer of 2014.
It was simply an amazing experience.
Perhaps one of the best holiday experiences ever. Although the road trip from Denmark to Roccantica is long, it was worth the whole trip.
In Roccantica you will find the Italian soul. Here one can feel transported to a bygone past.
You feel that time stands still in Roccantica. At the same time passes so quickly that holiday feeling all too short.
Roccantica is a small town with approximately 600 inhabitants where many of the streets consists of stairs, meaning of most of the city is pedestrianized.
You can walk the streets and enjoy the serenity while you get a glimpse of the authentic daily life in an Italian village. Here is a place that tourism has not spoiled.
Here life is lived, as has been done for centuries.
Although the city is virtually car-free, however, you can go by car directly to the house, located on the outskirts of the city.
In the morning you wake to twittering of swallows and swifts flying around all over the city in an impressive number.
Enjoy morning coffee on the covering terrace while you look at the stunning views of the Tiber Valley.
Here you can find the tranquility that takes to recover you from a stressful life.
The wonderful house and beautiful garden has an atmosphere that is found only very few places. It is truly a gem.
The house dating from the Middle Ages is large and meets despite its age all the requirements that you may require to modern amenities.
Even the internet connection is with a fine speed.
The city is a perfect base for excursions to central Italy, including Rome which is easiest to come by train. You can drive by car to the nearest train station in about 10 minutes.
From here you are in the center of Rome in less than an hour.
The train ticket provides access to the Metro and buses in Rome and is so cheap that it’is not worthwhile to take your own car to Rome The train runs from early morning to late at night.
The landlord lives in a house close by. If you need help or guidance, it is just minutes away.
We have met a hospitality, friendliness and helpfulness that you rarely find with landlords.
You feel more like a guest than as a tourist.
The only negative by giving the place the very best review iis that it can be hard to find available weeks in the future.
Roccantica is one of the places you would like to revisite.
We give 6 out of 5 stars.
Best regard from DK